Re:Member is a series of helpful tips and reminders for Peg City Car Co-op members.
This month’s topic: Time!
Let’s talk about time. Bookings with Peg City Car Co-op are a minimum of one hour, and up to 7 days long, consecutively! After the first hour, time can be added in 15 minute increments.
If you’re running late, you can log into your personal account and tack on an extra 15 minutes, as long as no other member has a booking that starts right after yours. Adding time to an existing booking is ALWAYS cheaper than running overtime and incurring a late fee. Plus, updating the calendar to reflect the time the vehicle will be available for the next person is not only courteous, it keeps carsharing a reliable service for all our co-op members. Don’t have the means to log in and add time? Give us a call! Our staff can also extend your booking for you. Just be sure to have your account number and car information on hand.
What if you’re done with the car earlier than you expected?
Let’s say you booked a car for four hours, and only needed it for two. When you return the car, you can log into your personal account, and click the handy button that reads “I’m done with this vehicle“. That will release the car for someone else to use! If another member books into the time you originally booked, you don’t pay for the time they end up using. This works best when there is a significant amount of time left on your booking. Given the nature of carsharing – where members sign in, choose a car, travel to the spot where that car is parked, and start their trip – anything less than an hour or so isn’t likely to be used by someone else.
What if I need to cancel a booking?
No problem. Members can cancel a booking with more than 24 hours notice, with no cancellation fees. Bookings that are cancelled between 24 and 6 hours before they’re supposed to start are charged 50% of the hourly rate they were booked at. Bookings that are cancelled less than 6 hours before they start are charged 100% of the hourly rate. No Shows – where someone has booked the car, but hasn’t cancelled or used their booking – are charged 150% of the hourly rate. Why not free it up for someone else to use?
As always, if you have questions about your current membership plan, or, you’re interested in joining, get in touch! We’d love to chat with you.